Viewpoint World/setting vs. pairing first

GraySkyl

I'm new to freeform rp and my rp experience mainly comes from TTRPGs (although there is plenty of experience in that regard). While reading through quite a bit of interest checks on here, I very quickly realized, that many people use a specific pairing of "archetypes" (e.g. Queen x Knight, etc.) as the basis of their RP.
This is something that I personally have never really considered, since my approach is usually "setting-first", e.g. thinking of a world or starting point for a plot and then finding characters that fit this specific setting/plot.

That's why I want to hear from you people, which of those (very general) approaches you prefer and why? I always love to hear how other people rp, since it can really only enhance and broaden your approach to rp.

I, for one, enjoy the setting-first approach, because it's kind of like "finding" your character in a sea of possibilites. Have the setting be a big fantasy trading city, that has been haunted by pirate attacks as of late? Sure, you can be one of the soldiers hunting the pirates, or you can be a pirate, or maybe you're a trader having to deliver important cargo, while trying to avoid being boarded by pirates. Or any one of 1000s of other possibilites. It gives you the possibility to experience (almost) infinitely different stories with the same "setup".
That's just my opinion, though. I'd love to hear from you!

Just to be clear:
I don't want to "yuck anybody's yum"! I don't think there's a wrong way to rp and experience stories, only incompatible partners. I'm just genuinely looking for your input and opinion!