Advice/Help Tips for Running an Organized RP

usagi froggy

Rhythm Heaven Enjoyer
Hihi! So, recently I've been interested in hosting a group RP, but it's been a REALLY long time since I've done so. I was wondering if you guys had any tips on keeping an RP organized (e.g., keeping everyone on the same page story-wise, lore organization, making sure people don't fall behind, communication tips, etc.) I know this is a bit of a vague ask, but any advice would be appreciated. I'm a pretty veteran RPer, but I'm definitely rusty on my hosting skills lol.

Mkay, lemme take a stab at this (though bear in mind that there will always be some amount of subjectivity and personal preference with this sort of thing).

My recommendations would be:

1. Have all the major elements you need prepared before you even put up the Interest Check- this keeps you from scrambling to come up with Lore or story or whatever else and have the RP waiting on you, which is stress no one needs.

2. Lore can be organized in any number of ways, as long as it is organized in some way. The most obvious breakdown is along the lines of people, places, history, magic and tech, etc. The various categories and contents will depend on the type of RP you're making and how Lore-heavy you want it to be.

3. Story-wise, you definitely don't need to have everything fully written from start to finish, but make sure you have enough planned to keep things from stalling out at any point- even if it's just a short list of GM event prompts.

4. For communication, quoting players to make sure notifications on important things don't get missed is always good practice.