Thousand Wounds Gear Style

Forn Clakes

ECR Refugee
This martial arts style is mentioned in the Autochthonian book, page 190, under the Gyroscopic Chakram Artifact.  It states the following:

"In addition to their use as ranged weapons, gyroscopic chakrams may also be used in close-combat as saws...Alchemicals have developed an entire Celestial-level martial art based on a pair of these weapons known as Thousand Wounds Gear Style.  Practitioners are noted for their calculated efficiency at delivering killing or maiming slashes and for interposing their disks as shields to deflect attacks."

When i first read this, i came up with a flurry of mental pictures of an Alchemical utilising this Style, but when i came to make some Charms, i came up blank.

Can anyone please help me with some sample principle Charm ideas i could utilise?

Cheers all,

~FC.

Hmm... I've never done a MA style before. Maybe I'll take my own crack at it.

-S

It seems to me that from the very minimal description we have of the Style in canon, it is strong in both defense and damage.

I think it might do some of the following things:

• Add dice to initiative (Since this is primarily a thrown-weapon based Style, and those weapons generally get no speed bonus, this is important.)
  • Add dice to parry pools
  • Add dice to damage
  • Provide extra actions in the form of attacks and parries
  • Bypass armor (It's likely that a large number of the Alchemicals' enemies are metal-plated to some degree)
  • Amputate limbs

Before I start organizing these effects into actual Charms, does anyone have any comments?

-S

Add a scene length charm that allows the use of multiple ones in close combat without off-hand(s) penalties.

Add a scene length charm that allows the use of multiple ones in close combat without off-hand(s) penalties.
That sounds like something that the Form could do.

-S