I'm new to Exalted

Val Hallen

Viking God of Rock
And I've never played it before. So if I want to play a game (and I do), I'm going to need the materials and resources to get it right. So...could you be so kind as to inform me of the materials (besides the core rulebook) I should acquire in order to prepare myself?

Depends on exactly what sort of game you want to get into. If you're just looking for the default Exalted experience, the core rulebook gives you everything you need and more - the general setting, information on most of the really big players and powers, and obviously all necessary info on Solars, though for stats stuff you will need the errata book (Scroll of Errata 2.5e, free on drivethroughstuff) - it alters chargen a bit and has some info on updated charms, biggest would be perfect defenses getting nerfed.

Beyond that, there are Compasses of Terrestrial/Celestial Direction books for the major geographical directions as well as the weirder places inside and outside of creation - if you're playing a game in say the Underworld you'll probably want that book for more information. You don't NEED any of those books, but if you want extra info, they're there. From a totally biased point of view I very much enjoyed reading most of them, especially the Celestial ones; it's pretty cool to get more info on Malfeas and the Wyld, and like all Exalted books they're generally very well written.

If you want to play a different Exalt type (Infernals, Abyssals, etc) you need the associated Manual of Exalted Power.

tl;dr version; Corebook+Scroll of Erata is enough if you want to play a Solar and your ST is willing to explain a few terms. Definitely use the http://anathema.github.com/ app for chargen - it comes with Errata stuff built-in and helps you keep track of all the number bits. Turns chargen from an insurmountable clusterfuck of OGODWAT into a pretty simple ordeal.